I started reading Madeline Miller's Circe last night, and wow, only two chapters in and I know I'm going to love it as much as I love Miller's The Song of Achilles. :) Circe is told from the perspective of the same Circe who creates a lengthy detour for Odysseus in Homer's Odyssey. The book begins with Circe describing her childhood as the daughter of a naiad and the god Helios.

Anybody have any recs for similar books that are beautifully written and retell Greek mythology? Have you read Circe or Song of Achilles?

Views: 26

Replies to This Discussion

I haven't read them yet, but they are on my radar! I've heard such good things about both of them! I don't know if it really counts as beautiful writing, but I've always loved Till We See Faces by C.S. Lewis.

Summary says it's about Cupid and Psyche – ooh, sold. I haven't read anything by him beyond Chronicles of Narnia. It looks interesting! Thank you!

I couldn't remember what it was a retelling of, but I knew it was Greek (also, I was in a hurry)! ;) I'd love to hear what you think once you've read it! You're welcome!

I loved Circe! I would suggest The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker, which is the Trojan war from one of the women's perspectives, a Greek queen enslaved by the Trojans, and was really nicely melancholy. You might also try Margaret Atwood's The Penelopiad

If you like Eastern European/Russian fairy tales as well, you might try The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, or Uprooted by Naomi Novik... or Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik. I really like her stuff.

Yay, I'm adding The Silence of the Girls, The Penelopiad, and The Bear and the Nightingale to my TBR list. From the Goodreads synopsis of The Silence of the Girls, it looks like Briseis is the enslaved Greek queen, right? I remember her appearing in The Song of Achilles and I remember wishing for more of her backstory, so I'm looking forward to reading that one.

Uprooted is amazing. I was so into that book that when I finished I went looking for fan fiction that continued the story beyond the final pages. Glad to hear that Spinning Silver is also worth a read. Thank you so much!

RSS

© 2019   Created by Kelli Combs (admin).   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service