Hi everyone, I was asked by Jackie Schmidt , the editor of the Journal of Corut Reporting to write an article on the business aspects of being an official court reporter. I figured I'd start here at CSR Nation.

Let me ask: As an Official Court Reporter, do you consider what you do a business, and if so why?

Thanks for all your help and send me any additional comments you may have.

Views: 88

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Certainly everything I do with reporting is a business. It really seems self-evident to me. Pro tem court work is part of what I do for a living, therefore, it's my business.

Possibly I don't understand the question.
I agree with you, Cathryn and I guess the way I phrased the question does make it seem self-evident.

I guess what I mean is when you are in the role of a Pro Tem, what do you do to market your services to the attorneys who appear before you? What are some of the procedures you use for collections, receiving transcript orders. Do you shop around for the best price in supplies which I guess is a business decision we're all making these days. Stuff like that. Do you, as part of your business use a scopist so you can take on more work? How does professional education fit into your business equation?

I hope this helps in answering my questions
Good questions. I do what is customary in the county where I pro tem. I don't particularly market my transcripts. I charge the page rates that the other reporters charge; the county lets us decide, and we agreed on a rate for consistency's sake. I give an estimate, and transcription begins once I receive their check. I always give them a longer estimate for the time it takes to delivery just in case something comes up and I can't deliver on an earlier date.

I buy most of our office supplies in bulk. Unless I know of a good deal locally, I go to Froogle.com and enter the name of the item I want. I have gotten some excellent deals that way.