Hi guys and gals! My name is Sheri. I am a court reporting student and a working medical transcriptionist. I love that a group just for us has been added. Please feel free to contact me at any time for questions or just to chat.

Views: 85

Replies to This Discussion

How did you find a job as a transcriptionist while you were a court reporting student? Thanks jayne
Hi Jayne. Well, I decided to be a medical transcriptionist in 2004. I took an online course from our local community college and finished in a year. Took me two years to get a job. I applied to our local hospital every six months until they called. In the meantime I worked part-time on an intern basis with a national company just honing my skills. But let me say that I'm nowhere good enough to work as a production based MT. I originally got into court reporting school to learn the steno to use in my transcription. But now I'm going for court reporting b/c the money is better. Hope that answered your question. If you have any more, please don't hesitate to ask.
I was just wondering where you went to court reporting school? Do you know of any schools for scoping? I have been a medical transcriptionist for 15 years but as you may know that the pay is not so good and it is hard to contract your own work with so many companys running out us independent transcriptionists. I am ready to make a change but I want to go in the right direction. Could you please give me some advice? Are you finished with court reporting school yet? How long did it take? The costs? Of course, I am not sure what area you are in so it may be different here. I live in OKC, OK. Please let me know any information can pass along to me! Thanks! Paula Martin :)