Hey there friends, so I want to raise the discussion of target dates...I have been a court reporting student for almost one year and I am just about to pass into 100's (and my 100's practice tapes are coming along just fine, so I know i will be out with a little practice), however, my teacher expects everyone in my group to be out of 120s in march 2008, so we have basically been given a year and a month from starting theory (and for me knowing absolutely nothing about court reporting) to get into 120s, or we would be charged an "extension fee" of $50 a month until we passed. For some people that might be fine, but for others it isn't, I was told when I signed on I would be able to work at "my own pace" due to the fact that I also work to support myself, almost 100wpm in almost a year is not bad to me, and I am confident that If i was just given the space to work at my own pace I will be out in no time, but the pressure can be quite distracting, now maybe it's good to get into the habit of being under pressure, but not as a student. I may also have less of a complaint if the instruction/dictation we were receiving was any good, but oft times the dictation is interrupted by noisy students, or our tests that are dictated are off time. I am a good student and I want so badly to succeed, but is it fair for me to be cut or penalized simply because I am not as fast as my teacher wants me to be if she said before it was a self-paced class? I would like your input, anyone that could help I would appreciate it!

Views: 20

Replies to This Discussion