Hi everyone:) I have been working now for about two years, and I am now looking how to get right up there in speed around the 280 and whatnot that I'm seeing others at. I have been looking into many options. I went to Alfred State and practiced the Realtime Writing Theory there. I just don't know what is the best way to practice to gain very high speeds with accuracy. I have been looking into Realtime Coach and then just speedbuilding tapes as well as a couple other books. I have ordered Brief Encounters, but just haven't gotten it yet.

So, what is the advice/input from everyone on this?

THANKS!

Views: 52

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Erica,

I just put what I'd recommend on my blog, magnumsteno.com. You can see it on the CSRnation main page right now.

I just passed the 280 this past summer, and I think it has a lot to do with help from Mark Kislingbury's books, speedbuilding philosophy, and advice.

Good luck! Thanks for caring about our profession enough to seek writing excellence. So great to hear from a relatively young professional!
You are one of the reasons I am trying to find the right method to get up there. I find you and your son inspiring! I already have written to Mark Kislingbury's website because I am interested in the book. I am just concerned that the briefs in there may conflict with the briefs and steno outline that I already have.

Thank you very much for helping, and tell your son good luck!:)
Just my .02, but I don't think Realtime Coach will do it for you for speed. I've got it and really am not all that thrilled with it.
I really don't think some of the speakers know what speed they're supposed to be speaking. Plus, when one take is finished, you have to get out of that one and open up another one and it does take a couple of clicks of your mouse.