This is quite different for me. I'm enjoying it, but it is leaving me feeling sad after I read it. . . Not in a "bad" way, but just sad. If this is making any sense, LOL.

Views: 31

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Rhoda:

So glad you joined the group. Loved your list in your other post; I've read about half those books and enjoyed them all. Never heard of "The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox." What's it about?

D
Ok, I am not good at book reports, like yours, lol.

A girl, Iris, discovers her Gr. Aunt was in a mental institution for 60 yrs, and her Grandma or no one 'talked' about her! The girl's mom didn't know either. Iris ends up w/the Aunt...I am at that part where the Aunt is now staying with her.

It goes back and forth between past/present...is kind of hoppy, but I am not too lost or anything. I am anxious to find out WHY the Aunt was put away! Her family was wealthy and her parents were snobs, IMHO. There were caretakers, the mom did nothing.

And you learn about Iris also and possibly how all these choices that were made back then about the Aunt could have affected generations?? Again, not done yet. Just guessing. Told you I am not good at reports, lol.
No, actually, Rho, you did a very nice job. You've gotten my attention. Now I have to add another book to my "try it and see" list! :)

D