I am a court reporting student located in Oceanside, California. I need to interview an official court reporter for an assignment and cannot find one anywhere in this area. I know that they're many around, but I'm new to this area...just moved here from New York and have had trouble finding one. If you know where or how I could contact one. Or if you are one...can I interview you? Even if you are not from this area...I am allowed to interview you over the phone or email. Again, I am not looking for freelance reporters, I already have an interview set up. I need a reporter who is offical and working in the court system! Thanks :)

Views: 55

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Kaleigh
I'm located where you just left. I'm in NYS. More accurately, in the mid-Hudson Valley, residence in Poughkeepsie; officialship in Rockland County (New City) Family Court. If you're permitted to do the interview by email, I'll give it a try.
Yes I can! Thank you so much :) How would you like to do this?
Just ask questions and I'll do my best to answer without getting on a soapbox, without preaching, etc.
How long have you worked in this profession?
I've been an official almost from the beginning. I freelanced out of school for a few months, then got offered an officialship. That was in 1969. I'll be retiring in September as an official, but plan on doing some freelance work just, mostly, to keep busy.
Please describe your profession.
Alright, I'm going to list the questions that my teacher listed for us to ask, that way it will be easier for you to respond rather than asking you question by question. Then after that I will ask you any additional questions that I have :) Thank you so much for your help!!

1. What is your name and profession
2. How long have you worked in this capacity
3. Please describe your professon
4. What is the average salary for someone in your profession
5. What are some good points of your profession
6. What are some bad points of your profession