Can I get some feedback on self taught scoping? I have the scoping version of DigitalCat and am a CR student. I have looked at Scoping Schools, but am leary of plunking down more cash for a short term profession. I really just want to scope while finishing CR, but obviously want to do the best job, and be marketable.

so the question is, can I figure it out on my own with the information in CR school, or should I attend a Scoping Traning program as well.

Thanks for any info.

Views: 107

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Kimberly,
I scope using Eclipse software and am learning CR at home (online). I self taught on the Eclipse software and it's very user friendly. My mom is a CR and she got me started on scoping. There is still a lot that I have to learn about the software, but the basics are quite easy to pick up. It's the little nuances that you learn as you get your feel for it. Just thought I'd let you know how it worked for me.

Thanks,
Vicki McGinnis
Thanks Vicki, I am looking at getting some un edited and the edited version of some transcripts so that I can get going, I did learn some software this last weekend so that will help too.
Hi Kimberly,

If you have not already purchased the Lillian Morson's English Guide for Court Reporters (LMEG),
that should be your next investment.
There are a lot of little things to know and learn about scoping. If you would truly like to learn
those things in the most cost-effective manner, I would recommend checking out the different
courses which I provide through Scoping Made Affordable (SMA).
Here is the link to that information. http://www.joyfulscoping.com/SMACourses.html

You can purchase each course separately. There is also a course on marketing.
If you have more questions, feel free to let me know at drscoping@gmail.com.

Blessings,
Ms. Devon Roberts
Ms. Roberts: