Hi All, I'm excited to be here as I start my journey back to court reporting! I went to school 20 years ago at The American Institute in Phoenix AZ, which has closed so I don't know exactly where I left off.

I have decided to do a Home study course called Court reporting at Home, today my intention is to get through theory and scope my way through speed building, but we'll see.

Views: 88

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Good luck to you! It's just like riding a bike, right?
HI KIMBERLY, I ALSO WENT BACK TO SCHOOL AFTER 3O YEARS. I HAPPEN TO BE DOING VERY WELL FOR A STAY AT HOME MOM WHO HAS NOT HAD TO WORK . I AM IN THE LAST SPEED CLASS AND READY TO GRADUATE.
MY ADVICE TO YOU IS......PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE . WORK ON HAVING ACCURATE NOTES.

YOU NEED TO BE EXTREMELY MOTIVATED TO DO A HOME STUDY COURSE. I LIVE IN NEW YORK AND ATTEND LONG ISLAND BUSINESS INSTITUTE.

LET ME KNOW HOW YOUR DOING. GOOD LUCK!!
Hi, Kim! I graduated from American Institute in Phoenix in February of 1986! Loved, loved, loved the school! I really hate that the ended up closing. Good luck with the home study course! Are you going to use the theory you were taught at AICR or are you starting all over from scratch?
Thanks Susan, I'm glad to hear you are doing so well! I have been at home for 14 years with running a business from home, that I've realized was really a hobby to keep my self busy, like I needed that with 4 kids:) But looking forward to having this as a carreer when my youngest enterst kindergarten. And I have been reading everything back, but you can imagine how boring that is I'm still writing the alphabet:) I am extremely motivated, and also have some AR qulaities about me that I need to work on my own pace, plus the $$ had a lot to do with it. I've been hearing horror stories of 4-5 years worth of student loans...etc.